Nigel O Flaherty wins Morrison BMW Cahir 6k Race

Nigel O Flaherty wins Morrison 6K

The Morrison BMW Cahir 6K Road Race Series got underway this evening in cold windy conditions. Despite the wintry conditions we had a fantastic entry of over 200 athletes representing 46 teams. Once again, the Club would like to thank Morrison BMW Cahir for sponsoring this year’s series of races, their 8th year of sponsorship, which is very much appreciated. Competition was keen throughout the race. Nigel O Flaherty of the Lucky Dip team underlined his good form when winning in a good time of 21 mins 36 secs with Patrick Roche of James Sullivan Running Technique 2nd in 22 mins 27 secs and Brian Carroll of the Lucky Dip team 3rd in 22 mins 32 secs. The top three women finishers were Dympna Ryan of Where is the Finish in 23 mins 29 secs, 2nd was Kealey Tideswell of STGH2 in 24 mins 40 secs and 3rd was Ali O Connor of O Reilly Pharmacy in 25 mins 18 secs.

This year we have once again put in a Default margin of 30 points in each Division, so that after the first night every team has a chance of winning a prize. Please note that the Default is for this race only. As regards the Prizes, this year we are giving prizes to the 1st 4 Teams in Division One, the top 3 team in Division Two, Three and Four, so all to run for over the next two nights. After tonight’s race everyone will have a fair idea of what their pace is for the distance and so the next two league race should be very interesting. As regards the way we drew up the Divisions, the top Divisions are made up of teams with seasoned athletes while the other Divisions are a mixture of Fun Runners and Newcomers The Club would like to thank the CTI and the Loreto Convent schools for the use of their fine facilities, we would also like to thank the Gardai and the Civil Defence for all their help as well as our many stewards and officials for ensuring the whole event was a brilliant success. We would also like to thank all the Captains for encouraging their team mates to compete