William Maunsell wins Annerville 10K

The very popular Annerville 10k took place today in ideal warm conditions with over 300 athletes going to the start line on the Quay. Right from the start the pace was strong with the lead set by two Clonmel AC members, William Maunsell and David Mansfield, David running in the Club colours for the first time since his transfer from Clonliffe Harriers, great to have him back in the Club. These two athletes were still together as they passed St Mary’s Church but as they approached the traffic lights in Irishtown, William increased the pace and soon opened a gap as he headed for the Old bridge. William was determined to go one place better than last year when he finished 2nd to Sergio Ciobanu. This determination saw him maintain this strong pace and soon he increased his lead over a very familiar course. He was still full of running as he made his way up along the Waterford road to come home a very worthy and convincing winner in 31 mins 1 sec, brilliant running. Then we had David Mansfield also running very well when finishing 2nd in 31 mins 43 secs, just weeks after running a PB in the Rotterdam Marathon of 2 hours 25 mins 1 sec, great running. Then we had William Stephens of Coolquill Ac also running very well when finishing 3rd in 32 mins 56 secs, it is great to see William back running so well again after nearly a year off due to injury. Then we had Jimmy Boland of Clonmel AC also running very well when finishing 4th in 33 mins 34 secs with John Fitzgibbon of Thurles Crokes also running very well when finishing 5th in 33 mins 43 secs. The Master Men award winners were as follows:

1st over 40 Derek Walsh Carrick on Suir AC 34:36, 2nd over 40 Shane Simcox Mallow AC 35:16, 1st 0ver 45 John O Shea Callan 40:53, 2nd over 45 Bernard Durand Clonmel AC 41:47, 1st over 50 Dermot Hayes Dundrum AC 34:14, 2nd over 50 Niall O Ceallaigh Clonmel AC 40:34, 1st over 55 William O Donoghue Mooreabbey Milers AC 37:39, 2nd over 55 Bernard Feery Clonmel AC 40:14, 1st over 60 Liam Butler Tipperary Town 43:50, 1st over 65 John Walshe East Cork AC 52:05 and 1st over 70 Myles McHugh Clonmel AC 58 mins.

The Women’s race was also very competitive with victory here going to Grace Reilly of Portlaoise AC in 39 mins 37 secs, great running. Then we had Aine Roche of Clonmel AC also running very well when finishing 2nd in 41 mins 17 secs with her club mate Anne Marie Boland finishing 3rd in 43 mins 7 secs. Then we had Laura Armstrong McCarthy of Dundrum AC running very well when finishing 4th in 43 mins 15 secs with Elaine Horgan of Clonmel AC finishing 5th in 44 mins 7 secs. The Master women Awards winners were

1st over 35 Edel Roche Clonmel AC 45:47, 2nd over 35 Laura Carey Coolquill AC 47:31, 1st over 40 Michelle Doherty Clonmel AC 44:26, 2nd over 40 Triona Morrison Clonmel 44:54, 1st over 45 Nicola Maunsell Clonmel AC 45:39, 2nd over 45 Sheila Perry Clonmel AC 47:13, 1st over 50 Anna Byrne Clonmel AC 47 mins, 2nd over 50 Orna Power West Waterford AC 49:24, 1st over 55 Bernie Hopkins Clonmel AC 52:24 and 1st over 60 Deirdre Clancy West Waterford AC 66:57.

The Club Chairman, Conor Fleming, at the Presentation of Prizes thanked our many stewards for all their help, from setting up the course to organising the Post Race Refreshments. He also thanked Colaiste Cheitinn for the use of their fine facilities as Race Headquarters. He also thanked our sponsors, Tipperary Water for such generous sponsorship. He also thanked the Gardai and the Civil Defence for all their help in ensuring that the whole event was such a brilliant success.  He also thanked both the Sporting Press and Showgrounds Shopping Centre for all their help and co-operation.