Kevin Maunsell wins the John Treacy 10 Mile

The very popular John Treacy 10 Mile road race took place recently where conditions were very good for the event, Spring was in the air and it was great to see many of our members having a spring in their step and recording some very good times and performances throughout the field, augurs well for the coming road season. Once again, our friends in West Waterford promoted a very successful event. It was great to see the Club colours so prominent throughout the field with 75 members competing.

The race attracted an entry of over 2400 finishers and competition was very keen throughout the race. At the front of the race, after the initial charge, a group of athletes took up the pace and they included Kevin Maunsell and David Mansfield of Clonmel along with David Flynn of Clonliffe Harriers, Thomas Fitzpatrick of Tallaght, Sean Hehir of Rathfarnham, Cillian O Leary of Raheny Shamrocks and Conor Duffy of Glaslough Harriers. This group was still together at halfway, full of running. Then as they approached the 7-mile mark, the defending Champion, Kevin Maunsell put in a very strong surge that split the group with him going clear. Kevin maintained a very strong pace that saw him draw well clear and he made every stride a winning one as he came home a very worthy and convincing winner in 49 mins 36 secs. This was a brilliant performance by Kevin, and it showed that his training is going very well at the moment. In 2nd place was David Flynn of Clonliffe Harriers in 49 mins 53 secs and these were the only two athletes to break 50 minutes for this course and this is the 2nd year in a row that these two same athletes have finished 1st and 2nd and both breaking 50 minutes.  

Then we had David Mansfield also running a brilliant race when finishing 7th in 51:22, a massive improvement on his last run of 52:40. Jimmy Boland ran very well when finishing 19th in 54:59 and greatly improving on last year’s run of 55:39. These three athletes combined very well to win the inter Club title, a first for the Club.

Then we had Joey Feery 33rd in 57:7 secs and improving on last year’s run of 58:37. Nigel O Flaherty was 81st in 59:40 with Sean McCarthy141st in 62:14 secs. Then we had Angela McCann running a very good race when finishing 174th in 63:54 to win the women’s over 45 award, great to see Angela back running well again, form is temporary class is permanent, this definitely applies to Angela. Then we had Bernard Feery finishing 2nd over 50 in 66:52.

We also had good performances from the following athletes with their previous best in brackets, Dick O Gorman 314th in 68:20 (70:19), Barry Horgan 359th in 69:14 (69:33), Siobhan McHugh 367th in 69:30 (69:52), Donal Ryan 382nd in 69:41 (77:18), Cornelius McFadden 387th in 69:43, Emmet Prendergast 397th in 69:50, Anne Marie Boland 406th in 69:58, great running by Ann Marie to break 70 minutes for this route and a PB also when improving on last year’s pb of 70:49, PB’s galore in the Boland household. Anne Marie along with Angela McCann and Siobhan McHugh combined very well to win the Women’s Inter Club title for the very first time by the Club in this Classic event. A brilliant double with both Men and Women’s teams winning the Inter Club titles at this prestigious event.

We also had good performances from Niall O Shea 448th in 71:11, Suzanne Shine 509th in 72:10, Elaine Horgan 532nd in 72:38 (75:48), Ann Marie Halpin 554th in 72:57, Billy Moloney 575th in 73:20, Neil Proven 601st in 73:44, Michelle Doherty 603rd in 73:45 (73:53), Sheila Perry 619th in 74:08, Nicola Maunsell 621st in 74:10 (85:49), Alan O Shea 655th in 74:38, Sean O Dea 661st in 74:41, Pat Coffey 706th in 75:23, John Griffin 781st in 76:54, Noel Ryan 823rd in 77:47, Anna Byrne 855th in 78:14, Niall Brannigan 875th in 78:36 (81:08), Kenny Brett 880th in 78:40, Frank Lynch 881st in 78:40, Aisling English 898th in 78:55 (79:26), Vincent McHugh 951st in 79:36, Pat Walsh 971st in 79:54(81:06), Eamonn English 1066th in 81:37, Angela Walsh 1085th in 81:58 (82:18), Sancha Quigley 1100th in 82:20, Marian Flaherty 1125th in 82:37, Ian Patterson 1156th in 83:29 (87 mins), Emma Ryan 1190th in 83:50, Orla Durand 1228th in 84:28, Victor Direen 1268th in 84:54, Michael O Donnell 1336th in 85:54, Ned O Brien 1337th in 85:54 (86:56), Sinead Kennedy 1343rd in 85:58 (88:23), Nicole O Gorman 1345th in 86:04 (86:59), Pauline Condon 1375th in 86:54, Ciara Meehan 1378th in 86:55, Keith Robinson 1381st in 86:58, Grainne O Malley 1382nd in 87:01 (89:06), Donna Nagle 1386th in 87:04, Brian Tyrrell 1416th in 87:29 (87:54),  Anthony Landers 1455th in 88:02, Aifric Byrne 1496th in 88:40, Sarah Toomey 1508th in 88:47, Miriam O Gorman 1568th in 89:39 (90:43), Sarah Whelan 1569th in 89:39, Bernie Hopkins 1593rd in 89:59, Silvia McGee 1626th in 90:23 (92:18), Catherine Ryan 1714th in 92 mins, Catherine Murphy 1867th in 95:25 (98:23), Tony McCarthy 1920th in 97:23, Jacqui Walsh 1973rd in 98:54, Paula Dwan 1974th in 98:55, Paul Higgins 2054th in 100:18, Gillian Prendergast 2092nd in 101:22, Annabella Normile 2168th in 104:29, William Lonergan 2172nd in 104:37,Aine Ryan 2222nd in 107:21, Georgina Gilligan 2251st in 108:59, Frances Fahey 2261st in 109:34 and Jackie Hickey 2287th in 111:34 and Jackie was another Club member writing new figures for this Classic event when improving greatly on last year’s run of 113 mins 10 secs, brilliant.

Congrats to all our Club members who ran so well, brilliant performances all round and indeed well done to all our supporters who were encouraging everyone along the route, thanks to Susan Laste for the photos.