Kevin Maunsell wins Clogheen 5K

The very popular Clogheen 5K road race took place in ideal conditions last week with a very good entry with a high quality. This event was promoted by the Club and it was brilliant to see 46 Club members competing. Kevin Maunsell., a previous winner of this race ran very well when coming home a very clear winner in 15 mins 12 secs. Then we had Evan Fitzgerald, the defending Champion, also running very well when finishing 4th in 16 mins 23 secs. Conor Ryan was another athlete who ran well when 6th in 17:11 with Anthony Bowen 11th in 18 mins. Conor Fleming also ran well when winning the over 50 award in 18:01 with Gavril Corduneanu 19th in 18:32. Then we had Angela McCann holding off a strong challenge from Linda Grogan to win the women’s race in 18 mins 35 secs. We also had good performances Niall O Shea 22nd in 18:36, Alan Carter 28th in 19:17, Conor O Gorman 32nd in 19:36, Donal Ryan 35th in 19:42, Courtney McGuire is running very well at the moment and she ran very well to finish 3rd woman in 20:07, Jamie Byrne running this course for the very first time ran very well when finishing 39th in 20:12, Cathal O Gorman 41st in 20:18, John Perry 42nd in 20:18, Aine Roche winning the women’s over 35 award in 20:21, Yvonne O Connor made a very welcome return to competition and ran very well when winning the women’s over 45 award in 20:36, Anthony Power 48th in 20:37, Ciara O Neill 53rd in 21:05, Neil Proven 54th in 21:08, Vincent McHugh 61st in 21:14, Michelle Doherty 65th in 21:24, Ruby Carroll won the Junior Female award in 21:36, Anne Marie Halpin 71st in 21:44, Aisling English 76th in 21:51, Brendan Coffey 77th in 21:52, Nicola Maunsell 81st in 22:07, Jane O Donnell 83rd in 22:27, Ned O Brien 84th in 22:30, Sheila Perry 90th in 22:42, Eddie Prendergast 96th in 22:58, Eamonn English 97th in 23:02, Anna Byrne won the women’s over 50 award in 23:32, Layla Tideswell 111th in 24:11, Tommy Cahill 119th in 24:36, Noel Howley won the Men’s over 70 award in 24:38, Bernie Hopkins 134th in 25:48, Julie Tideswell 140th in 26:11, Sarah Toomey 142nd in 26:15, Brian Tyrrell 144th in 26:20, John Laste 148th in 26:23, Monica Lambe 150th in 26:31, Isobel O Donnell 153rd in 26:48, Cathy Mansfield 165th in 28:12, Eamonn Crowley 168th in 28:43 and the evergreen Myles McHugh, still enjoying the Sport ran well when finishing 173rd in 29:03 before the home supporters.