David Mansfield 4th in the John Treacy 10 Mile

Dungarvan was the venue last Sunday for the very popular John Treacy 10 Mile Road race as 77 members made the familiar trip to the seaside town. The atmosphere was brilliant as athletes from all parts of the country made a welcome return to road races, having been starved of such events over the past two years. As such the windy conditions over the first half of the race did not deter them and it is great to report some fantastic performances. Right from the start a group of six athletes, including our own David Mansfield set the pace. David was at the business ned of the race throughout the event, and he kept that strong pace going when finishing 4th in 50 mins 6 secs, a new PB over this course, improving on his 2020 run by 38 secs, brilliant. Then we had Courtney McGuire making her debut in this event also running very well when finishing 4th woman in a brilliant time of 58 mins 58 secs, fantastic running. Then we had Hannah Steeds, another debutant in this event and also putting in a brilliant performance when finishing 5th woman in 59 mins 30 secs. Angela McCann ran very well when finishing 7th woman and 1st over 50 in a very good time of 62 mins 18 secs. These three athletes combined to win the John Treacy Cup for the Best Female Club, another first for the Club. Conor Fleming is another athlete who is running very well at the moment, and he too should be pleased with his performance when 145th in 61:37. Despite the Covid pandemic curtailing training and lack of races, it was great to see many of our members posting PBs over this course, with their previous best in brackets. Athletes like Cormac Healy 167th in 62:24 (69:18), Brendan Walshe 264th in 65:33 (69:21), Barry Horgan 274th in 66:41 (68:07), Jamie Byrne 343rd in 67:44 (71:35), Anthony Power 365th in 68:07 (71:30), Sean O Dea 474th 69:49 (74:36), Anne Marie Halpin 478th in 69:53 (74:55), Paul Ryan 479th in 69:53 (70:13), Elaine Horgan 491st in 70:15 (71:25), John Griffin 744th in 74:43 (76:54), Niall Brannigan 836th in 76:12 (76:22), Michael Doocey 1033rd in 79:29 (79:32), Stephanie Byrne 1535th in 87:22 (92:02), Helen O Ceallaigh 1771st in 90:57 (93:10) and Annabelle Normile 2273rd in 103:23 (104:29),

We also had good performances from Peter Kiely 318th in 66:55, Donal Ryan 350th in 67:50, Eddy O Donoghue 362nd in 68:04, Vincent McHugh 496th in 69:59, Ailish Mansfield 520th in 70:58, Pat Coffey 549th in 71:30, Kenny Brett 728th in 74:30, Sheila Perry 749th in 74:47, Aisling English 801st in 75:34, Pat Walsh 1092nd in 80:19, Ian Patterson 1185th in 81:41, Caroline O Donoghue 1251st in 82:50, Anna Byrne 1337th in 84:20, Ann Marie Boland 1356th in 84:31, Sinead Kennedy 1451st in 85:43, Frank Lynch 1471st in 86:12, Tommy Dunphy 1495th in 86:44, Ciara Meehan 1544th in 87:31, Eamonn English 1559th in 87:41, Charles Kerins 1585th in 88:03, Maire Fitzgerald 1586th in 88:05, Grainne O Malley 1587th in 88:05, , John Laste who race walked it in 90 mins 3 secs, brilliant effort, Denise Donnelly 1797th in 91:21, Mellissa McCarthy 1872nd in 93:24, Brian Tyrrell 2017th in 96:22, Marion O Neill 2274th in 103:23, Barry Gavigan 2316th in 105:59, Lizzie Ryan 2324th in 107:04, Catherine Ryan 2423rd in 126:26 and William Lonergan 2427th in 127:56.

This year we had many debutants from the Club at this event and they all should be very pleased with their performances, athletes like, Michael Moloney 351st in 67:52, Eelco Beckers 476th in 69:52, Lorcan O Keeffe 489th in 70:07, Trevor Whelan 590th in 72:15, Jane Hewitt 608th in 72:41, Justin Foley 649th in 73:23, Katie Lyne 729th in 74:30, David Lorigan 788th in 75:23, Brendan Coffey 861st in 76:44, Paul Weymouth 1005th in 79:08, Brigid Heaney 1056th in 79:45, MJ Croke 1147th in 81:07, Sareen Walsh 1155th in 81:14, Richard Madden 1243rd in 82:45, Richard Meehan 1291st in 83:37, Jessica O Shea 1362nd in 84:34, Patrick O Gorman 1494th in 86:44, Brid Ahearne 1658th in 89:20, Annette Comerford 1743rd in 90:29, Anne Marie Lowes 1764th in 90:45, Jonathan Cooney 1818th in 91:59, Monica Lambe 1871st in 93:20, Barbara Doran 2016th in 96:21, Brigid Ryan 2255th in 96:22 and Catherine Murphy 2378th in 111:29.