Shay McEvoy with the MSD 4 mile

The MSD 4 Mile Road race took place today in ideal conditions with little wind and mild weather was the order of the day. The race started and soon a group of athletes dictated the pace. Then as the leaders approached 3k the leading group was down to two, David McCarthy of West Waterford and the eventual winner Shay McEvoy of Kilkenny City Harriers with a group of athletes in the chasing pack that included Tim O Donoghue of East Cork, Brian Maher of Kilkenny City Harriers, a previous winner, Ger Forde of Kilkenny City Harriers and Kevin Moore of Dundrum AC. The two leaders had a ding dong battle all the way up the Waterford Road with Shay edging it close to the line to win a brilliant race in 18 mins 44 secs with David McCarthy 2nd in 18 mins 48 secs. Worth noting that David won this race back in 2011 when finishing in 18 mins 58 secs, brilliant to see an athlete of David’s ability back in the Sport again and the very best of luck to him in 2022. The battle for the 3d spot was decided inside the last 300m with Kevin Moore finishing like a train in 18 mins 59 secs, a massive PB over this distance by improving on his 2019 performance of 19 mins 37 secs. For the record Brian Maher was 4th in 19 mins with Tim O Donoghue of East Cork AC 5th in 19 mins 42 secs. The masters category winners were as follows:1st 0/40 Niall O Riordan An Bru AC 20:57, 2nd 0/40 Ciaran Doheny Newcastle 22:47, 1st 0/45 Eddie Nugent Crusaders AC 23:22, 2nd 0/45 John Kelly Mallow AC 24:25, 1st 0/50 Johnny O Sullivan Galtee Runners AC 23:08, 2nd 0/50 Sean Delaney Marina ins AC 23:28, 1st 0/55 Willie O Donoghue Mooreabbey Milers 23:54, 2nd 0/55 Kieran Twomey Mallow 26:32, 1st 0/60 Michael Moore Dundrum AC 25:27, 1st 0/65 Joe Gough West Waterford AC 25:21, 1st 0/70 John Walshe Road Runners Club 34:04 and 1st 0/75 Myles McHugh Clonmel AC 38:54. The 1st Junior was Alex Crowley Thurles Crokes 20:42 with Darren O Dwyer Clonliffe Harriers 2nd in 21:45.

The women’s race saw Dymphna Ryan of Dundrum take a commanding lead inside the 1st km and from there to the finishing line she made every stride a winning one when finishing 16th overall to win very convincingly in 21 mins 56 secs. Brilliant running by Dymphna when one considers that she ran 23 mins 25 secs on this course in 2019. Then we had Ciara O Neill of Clonmel AC also running very well when finishing 2nd woman in 23 mins 13 secs with her club mate Angela McCann 3rd in 23 mins 28 secs. Then we had Maire Claire McCarthy also of Clonmel AC finishing 4th in 24 mins 42 secs with former Club member Linda O Connor (Carrigaline AC) 5th in 25 mins 2 secs. The master category prize winners were as follows: 1st 0/35 Orla Clear (Paulstown) 28:05, 2nd 0/35 Katie Lyne (Clonmel AC) 29:29, 1st 0/40 Suzanne Shine (Clonmel AC) 26:10, 2nd 0/40 Tish Ryan (Cashel) 26:28, 1st 0/45 Catherine O Sullivan (Galtee runners AC) 27:26, 2nd 0/45 Norah Storey (Tramore AC) 29:54, 1st 0/50 Sinead Tynan (Moyne AC) 2nd 0/50 Sheila Perry (Clonmel AC), 1st 0/55 Denise Donnelly (Clonmel AC) 35:50, 1st 0/60 Margie Ryan (Thurles Crokes) 39:43 and 1st 0/65 Teresa Mackey (Clonmel) 46:59. The 1st Junior woman was Muireann Duffy (Clonmel AC) in 23:39 with Rachael Walsh (Grange Fermoy AC) 2nd in 25:28.

The Club would like to thank MSD for again sponsoring this very popular event this year. We would also like to thank the Gardai and the Red Cross for all their assistance as well as all our stewards and helpers who ensured that the whole event was managed successfully. The Club would also like to thank Colaiste Cheitinn for the use of their fine facilities as race headquarters, very much appreciated. The Club would also like to thank Bulmers for sponsoring the water.