Great Club performances at MSD Be Well 4 miles

The Club promoted a very successful 4-mile road race on St Stephen’s Day where conditions were good for running. The Club would like to thank MSD for sponsoring this year’s race. Sean Tobin ran a fantastic race to win in a new course record of 17 mins 45 secs, averaging 4 mins 26 secs per mile, to win very convincingly and to a great applause. Then we had David Mansfield also running very well when achieving a new PB over this route when finishing a very good 5th in 19 mins 46 secs, improving on his 2017 performance by 5 seconds. Evan Fitzgerald also ran a brilliant race on his debut over this route when finishing 6th in 20 mins, some running for a 19-year-old. Paul Minogue ran very well when finishing 19th in 21 mins 42 secs, smashing his PB of 23 mins 53 secs set in 2016. We also had great performances from Anthony Bowen 25th in 23:06, Dermot Logue 28th in 23:11, Conor Fleming 35th in 23:29 and 1st over 50, Angela McCann running very well when finishing 3rd woman in 23:33, Gavril Corduneanu making his Club debut in this event ran very well when finishing 44th in 24:25, Nigel O Flaherty 56th in 24:56, Aine Roche was 5th woman in 25:02, Emmet Prendergast was 60th in 25:05 and a new PB, smashing his 2018 time of 25:56, Brian Carroll 67th in 25:30, John Walsh 75th in 25:49, Trevor Whelan 78th in 25:52, Barry Horgan 80th in 25:55, Jamie Byrne 83rd in 26:03 and improving by 9 seconds on last year’s run, Niall O Ceallaigh 84th in 26:04, Corneilius McFadden 86th in 26:09, Suzanne Shine was 2nd over 40 in 26:29, Anthony Power 98th in 26:37 and smashing his old PB of 27:28 set in 2016, Pat Coffey 99th in 26:40, Siobhan McHugh winning the over 45 award in 26:42, Jimmy Boland 102nd in 26:50, Alan O Shea 103rd in 26:55 and smashing his 2016 PB of 28:29, Sean O Dea 104th in 27:02 and improving on his 2018 PB of 27:23, John Perry 107th in 27:04 and improving on last years’ time of 28:04, Kenny Brett 108th in 27:05 and improving on his 2016 PB of 27:20, Sean Fitzgerald 109th in 27:06, Vincent McHugh 118th in 27:27, Peter Kiely 119th in 27:28, Angela Walsh won the women’s over 35 award when finishing in 27:40, Aisling English 129th in 27:43 smashing her 2018 PB of 29:24, Daniel Slattery 131st in 27:44, Elaine Horgan 135th in 27:54, Niall Brannigan 137th in 28:02 smashing his 2014 PB of 29:41, Cailin Napier won the Junior Woman’s award in 28:21, Aidan Cremin 150th in 28:27, Charles Kerins 152nd in 28:32, Ian Patterson 164th in 29:14 and breaking the 30 minute barrier for this route and a major improvement on last year’s PB of 30:31, Tommy Dunphy 165th in 29:16, Eddie Ormond 170th in 29:24Eddie Prendergast 1717st in 29:25, Victor Direen 181st in 29:49, Ned O Brien 193rd in 30:01, Gillian Hughes was 2nd Junior woman in 30:20, Neil Proven 209th in 30:30, Cyril Fogarty 210th in 30:33, Noel Ryan 213th in 30:38, Tom Bourke 220th in 30:52, Noel Howley won the over 70 award in a very good time of 30:58 and smashing last year’s PB of 31:53, Donal Casey 248th in 32:06, Michael Egan 266th in 32:47, Brian Tyrrell 273rd in 33:01, Stephanie Byrne was 279th in 33:17 and smashing her 2018 PB of 36:52, Rachel Lonergan 283rd in 33:25, Anthony Landers 284th in 33:31, Eileen Hynes won the women’s over 60 award in a very good time of 33:34, Eddie Meegan 290th in 33:38, Edel Roche 293rd in 33:40, Martin Walsh 296th in 33:55, Sarah Toomey 322nd in 34:54, Jamie Wilson 332nd in 35:31, Eoin Morrissey 335th in 35:29, Maire Laste 337th in 35:37, Paula Dwan 358th in 37:06, Donna Nagle 375th in 37:58, Myles McHugh won the over 75 award in a very good time of 39:22, William Lonergan 399th in 40:38, Lena Griffin 406th in 41:24, Annabelle Normile  407th in 41:31, Catherine Ryan 419th in 43:44, Natalie Federova making her debut over this route ran very well when finishing 431st in 45:17, Mari Murphy Condon 435th in 46:17, Paul Condon 436th in 46:18 and Pierce Purcell also ran very well when finishing in 61:25 and there was a special presentation for Pierce as he crossed the finishing line celebrating 80 years and great to see him still enjoying the Sport, long may it continue. The Club would like to thank everyone who helped to make the event a brilliant success.