Great Club performances at Clerihan Road races

The Clerihan Road Races took place last weekend in good running conditions and it was great to see the Club very well represented in both the 5k and the 8K. In the 5k Kealey Tideswell continues her good run of form when winning the Women’s race in 19 mins 47 secs. We also had good performances from Neil Proven 6th in 20:05, Daragh Boland 7th in 21:20, Michelle Doherty also ran very well when finishing 2nd women in 21:22, Julie Tideswell 15th in 25:37, Brenda Hanney 18th in 26:22, Sasha Tideswell 21st in 28:18, Catherine Ryan 29th in 30:21 and Layla Tideswell 38th in 33:13.

In the 8k Jimmy Boland running on familiar ran well when finishing 2nd in 27:21 with Conor Fleming winning the over 50 award when finishing in 30:28. We also had good performances from Dick O Gorman 14th in 32:14, James Denn 17th in 32:31, Daniel Slattery 18th in 32:33, Lar Martin 20th in 32:40, Barry Horgan 23rd in 33:12, Niall O Ceallaigh 29th in 34:07, Sean McCarthy 30th in 34:11, Ann Marie Boland 33rd in 34:39, Elaine Horgan also ran very well when winning the women’s over 35 award in 34:48, Dan O Keeffe 35th in 34:49, Aidan Cremin 38th in 35:17, Pat Coffey 41st in 36:05, John Griffin 47th in 36:37, Nicola Maunsell 49th in 36:41, Anne Marie Halpin 50th in 36:42, Courtney McGuire 53rd in 37:18, Ned O Brien also ran very well when winning the over 60 award in 37:25, Brendan Coffey 54th in 37:41, Anna Byrne 55th in 38:27, Pat Walsh 59th in 38:39, Donal Ryan 61st in 38:56, Frank Lynch 69th in 39:33, Emma Ryan 77th in 40:55, Eddie Prendergast 79th in 41:34, Eileen Hynes also ran very well when winning the women’s over 55 award in 41:45, Martin Walsh 83rd in 41:53, Helen O Ceallaigh 88th in 42:42, Donna Nagle 96th in 43:56, Noel Howley 108th in 45:04, Claire Falvey 109th in 45:09, Paula Dwan 111th in 45:38, Eamonn Crowley 114th in 45:55, William Lonergan 116th in 46:18 and Monica Lambe 117th in 46:23.

The Club also honours two of its finest ambassadors of the sport, Laura Taylor and Joe Grinsell, who died so tragically in recent years at the Clerihan 8k. The leading County female athlete was presented with the Laura Taylor Perpetual Shield and this year’s winner was Madeline Loughnane of Thurles Crokes who had many a race with Laura in the past. The leading County male athlete was presented with the Joe Grinsell Perpetual Shield and this year’s recipient was Emmet McNamara. Indeed, it was also great to see a large entry from Ballydoyle Stables where Laura worked for many years.