David Mansfield wins Kilsheelan 10 Mile

The Kilsheelan 10 Mile road race took place last Sunday. This was the first promotion of this race and it was great to see the event well organised by Eddie and his team. The race was over a challenging course and a test of fitness and it was great to see everyone finishing well.

The race started and soon the hot favourite, David Mansfield of Clonliffe Harriers went to the front and set a strong pace that soon saw him draw well clear of the chasing pack. David kept this strong pace going to come home a very worthy winner in 53 mins 7 secs, David is currently fine tuning his training for the Rotterdam marathon in April and will be pleased with this performance over such a challenging route. Then we had Trevor Power of Waterford AC emerging from the chasing pack to finish 2n din 54 mins 38 secs with Joey Feery of Clonmel AC running very strongly over the closing stages to finish 3rd in 58 mins 35 secs. Dermot Gorman of Mooncoin was 4th in 58 mins 56 secs with Ger O Sullivan of Bishopstown 5th in 59 mins 30 secs. The Master Men award winners were 1st over 40 Paul Cotter Eagle AC in 65 mins 23 secs, 2nd over 40 Lar Martin Clonmel  66 mins 13 secs, 1st over 45 Michael O Sullivan Carrick on Suir AC 62 mins 48 secs, 2nd over 45 Benny Hahessy Carrick on Suir AC 66 mins 35 secs, 1st over 50 James O Sullivan Carrick on Suir AC 59 mins 33 secs, 2nd over 50 Conor Fleming Clonmel AC 64 mins 24 secs, 1st over 55 John Laste Clonmel AC 76 mins 45 secs and 1st over 60 Tommy Cahill Clonmel 76 mins 46 secs.

The women’s race was also very competitive, here Marie McCarthy of Farronfore AC ran very well when coming home a very convincing winner in 63 mins 39 secs. Then we had Kealey Tideswell of Clonmel AC also running very well when finishing 2nd in 67 mins 16 secs with Aine Roche of Clonmel AC finishing 3rd in 69 mins 38 secs, Ann Marie Boland of Clonmel AC 4th in 70 mins 15 secs and Deirdre Ansbro of Youghal AC 5th in 71 mins 48 secs. The Master Women’s award winners were 1st over 35 Anne Costelloe St Brendan’s AC 73 mins 35 secs, 2nd over 35 Mary Molloy Carrick on Suir AC 75 mins 37secs, 1st over 40 Louise O Brien Youghal AC 72 mins 30 secs, 2nd over 40 Michelle Doherty Clonmel AC 75 mins 1 sec, 1st over 45 Nicola Maunsell Clonmel AC 76 mins 50 secs, 2nd over 45 Sheila Perry of Clonmel AC 78 mins 5 secs, 1st over 50 Lizzie Ryan Clonmel AC 82 mins 16 secs, 1st over 55 Mary Mulcahy St Finbarr’s AC 87 mins 17 secs and 1st over 60 Norma Harrington Galtee Runners 102 mins 42 secs.

The organising committee would like to thank everyone who helped to make the event a brilliant success.