David Mansfield wins Coillte 10K

All roads led to Dundrum last week for their very popular 10K road race, the 34th promotion of this event. It was brilliant to see the Club Colours well represented with 35 members competing at this event as Dundrum AC are great supporters of our events throughout the year.

David Mansfield is running very well at the moment and he was very prominent as the race got underway. He was in the leading group as the race pace settled after the initial charge. Then as the athletes appeared back into the village with a lap to go, David was setting a strong pace that had the field well spread out with him at the head of a small group of athletes. On the 2nd lap David maintained this strong pace that saw him gradually increase his lead over the chasing pack. As he came into the village with 300m to go, David was well clear and kept the tempo going to come home a very convincing and worthy winner in 31 mins 4 secs, brilliant running on what was a very warm humid night, David won this event in 2017 in 32 mins 3 secs. Then we had Billy Moloney also running very well when finishing strongly in 21st place in 36 mins 56 secs, massively improving on last years’ time and PB of 38:22. Brian Carroll also ran very well when winning the over 45 award when 23rd in 37 mins 29 secs. Angela McCann also put in a brilliant performance when finishing 2nd woman in 37 mins 36 secs. We also had goof performances from Niall O Shea on his debut over this course ran very well when finishing 46th in 40:11, Dick O Gorman 55th in 41:01, Niall O Ceallaigh 63rd in 41:27, Aine Roche 64th in 41:29, Donal Ryan 65th in 41:36, Eddy O Donoghue 72nd in 42:22, Neil Proven 76th in 42:27,  a new PB over this route, Ciara O Neill 83rd in 42:48, Courtney McGuire 86th in 42:52,  Noel Ryan 88th in 42:57, Anthony Power 90th in 42:59 and a PB over this route, Jamie Byrne 92nd in 43:30, Pat Coffey 98th in 43:54, Sean O Dea 100th in 44 mins, Alan O Shea 105th in 44:41, Pat Walsh ran very well when improving by 3 mins 17 secs on last year’s PB when finishing 118th in 45:27, Niall Brannigan 124th in 46:07, Brendan Coffey 134th in 47:16, Nicola Maunsell 2nd over 45 in 47:24, Kenny Brett 139th in 47:29, Anna Byrne 2nd over 50 in 48:41, Victor Direen 151st in 49:32, Grainne O Malley 167th in 51:40, Noel Howley 1st over 70 in 51:52, Bernie Hopkins 1st over 60 in 51:52, Eoin Morrissey 187th in 53:33, Helen Linnane 188th in 53:40, Sandra Laycock 199th in 55:27 and another athlete improving as she set a new PB for this route, Cathy Mansfield 217th in 58:59, Eamonn Crowley 218th in 59:48 and John Laste 221st in 60:37.