Anthony Bowen wins 4k

The 3rd race of the Clonmel Ac 4K series took place tonight where conditions were dry with a slight headwind and we saw some great performances throughout the field as athletes, getting use to the course, improved on their times, so well done, great to see such progress after only three weeks. The Club would like to thank the Brothers of Charity for the use of their carpark as the Race Headquarters and to the Red Cross for the First Aid and to our many stewards who ensured that the whole event was a success. To date we have had 147 athletes competing in this year’s series with many of them running all three races to date.

Next Week’s race is our Charity race and the designated Charity is the CARE Cancer Support Centre, Wellington Street, a very worthy cause and all monies collected at next week’s race will go to this cause, so the more people who come along and support this race the more funds for this worthy Charity will be collected.

Back to tonight’s race and it was great to see the following athletes improve on their previous performances this year, athletes like Alan Whyte improving by 31 secs, Ali O Connor by 4 secs, Angela Walsh by 40 secs, Annmarie Boland by 6 secs, Barry Horgan by 21 secs, Carmel Armstrong by 1 min 19 secs, Caroline Myles by 1 min 29 secs, Cathy Mansfield by 21 secs, Declan Nolan by 24 secs, Eddy O Donoghue by 7 secs, Emma Ryan by 26 secs, Emmet Prendergast by 5 secs, Eoin Morrissey by 1 min 45 secs, Fergal Clifford by 26 secs, Fergal Condon by 22 secs, Gints Plaudis by 31 secs, James Denn by 35 secs, Jimmy Lonergan by 1 min 37 secs, John Shanahan by 30 secs, Keith Robinson by 45 secs, Lar Martin by 22 secs, Martin McGrath by 23 secs, Michael Hally by 44 secs, Michael Murphy by 12 secs, Michael Ryan by 1 min 7 secs, Michelle Bergin by 1 min 4 secs, Nessa O Dwyer by 48 secs, Niall Brannigan by 8 secs, Niall O Ceallaigh by 11 secs, Noel Ryan by 58 secs, Oliver Lynch by 38 secs, Patricia Moloney by 43 secs, Paul Shanahan by 1 min 6 secs, Richard Fitzgibbon by 46 secs, Sarah Toomey by 42 secs, Tadgh Toomey by 9 secs, Tom Butler by 48 secs, Trish Cooney by 3 secs and Willie O Connell by 22 secs.

Tonight’s race format was Lucky Dip and the winners were Lar Martin 5th in 15:54, Martin McGrath 30th in 18 mins 1 sec, Alan Whyte 50th in 20 mins 5 secs and Ann Casey 75th in 23 mins 40 secs. Tonight’s race was won by Anthony Bowen in a very good time of 13 mins 59 secs with Nigel O Flaherty 2nd in 15 mins 1 secs and Billy Moloney 3rd in 15 mins 7 secs. The top three women finishers were Claire Annan 14th in 16 mins 32 secs, 2nd was Suzanne Shine 19th in 17 mins 8 secs and 3rd was Elaine Horgan 20th in 17 mins 10 secs.