All Ireland Presentations 2017

The Club celebrated the 2017 All Ireland achievers last night in Moynihan’s before a very good attendance. The Chairman, Conor Fleming, welcomed everyone to the function and looking at the Achievers, he said that it showed the many aspects of the Club’s activities as we had winners from Cross Country to Track (Indoor and Outdoor) to Road from events like the 60M indoor to the Marathon by athletes aged 10 to 65 plus. He thanked the Club Coaching staff for all their great work in 2017 and he also thanked the many parents present for all their help in 2017, such help is very much appreciated and that is why we have such a vibrant Club, long may it continue. He also thanked Anthony Moynihan for the use of his fine facilities and for the light refreshments which were enjoyed by all.

The MC for the night, Frank Lynch, got proceedings underway by calling on Albert Doyle to introduce our Boys under 11 squad of Cian Flaherty, Harry O’Keeffe, Connor O’Gorman, Michael O’Reilly, Cianan Power, Matthew Downey, Kieran Proven, Cathal O’Gorman, Patrick McGarry and Matthew Buckley and their achievements at the All Ireland Cross Country Championships in WIT Waterford. Frank then outlined the fine achievements by Grainne O Connor in 2017 while Niall O Ceallaigh outlined the fine achievements by Ava Fennessy. On the Senior side Niall O Sullivan outlined the fine achievements by Evan lynch, Michael Carey, Hazel Galloway, Bernard O Neill, Conor Fleming, Corneilius McFadden, Noel Gillman, Kevin Maunsell and Sean Tobin. Each All Ireland Achiever was presented with crystal by Club Chairman, Conor Fleming.

During 2017 the Club suffered a hugh loss with the sudden death of Mary Doyle, a trojan worker for the Club, especially at Juvenile level. As a mark of appreciation for all her great work, the Club presented the Mary Doyle Memorial Cup, which will be presented to the oldest All Ireland Juvenile Achiever every year. Albert Doyle, thanked the Club for such a gesture on his own behalf and on behalf of his children. He then presented the Cup to Ava Fennessy amid great applause.

The Club Chairman, Conor Fleming, again thanked all the recipients and he wished them and all Club members the very best in pursuing their athletic Goals in 2018.